Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

New Home Page!: Community & Alumni

The Evans Library is your library if you are a:

  • Currently enrolled SUNY student
  • Empire State College student
  • FMCC Alumni
  • Resident of Fulton or Montgomery County, 18 years of age or older
    • or Owner of Fulton or Montgomery County businesses

Click on the image below to get started!

Use in the Evans Library

*available at the Circulation Desk

Use at Home

  • Circulating Books (2nd floor/3-week loans)
  • Select DVDs (1st floor/1-week loan)
  • Ask-a-Librarian 24/7 chat service

As part of the Fulton-Montgomery Community College family, the Evans Library & Learning Commons is pleased to offer alumni access to databases from EBSCO Publishing. This is addition to the benefits your enjoy as a community borrower.

Academic Search Alumni Edition* is designed to meet the research needs of the post-college professional. This multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 3,190 journals, as well as indexing and abstracting for more than 8,000 journals.

Business Source Alumni Edition* provides access to 1,540 full-text business magazines and journals. This database includes publications in nearly every area of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics, economics and more

*requires username and password. FM Alumni please contact Evans Library if you have not received this information.*

If you are looking for research materials from another library, we can help!  We prefer you set up an appointment with a librarian, however you can start by filling in this form so we can begin to look for the material you need!

Regional History at the Evans Library

The Kenneth R. Dorn Regional History Study Center

A special collection for readers and researchers, providing in-depth focus on Mohawk Valley history from colonial to recent times, the Kenneth R. Dorn Regional History Collection actively accumulates books and a vertical file of journal articles, many of which are not available in other valley libraries.

Special Collections - The David F. Nestle and the Eber Davis collections, through primary documents and photographs, present a comprehensive understanding of the Fonda, Johnstown and Gloversville Railroad (1867-1984).

Other Specialties - the Dorn Collection contains source materials on Canadian Loyalists and also UMI Masters and Doctoral theses on valley history and those who made it.  It does not contain genealogical works or rare, primary source documents.


Why? 
Our mission is to gather and provide historical materials in traditional and electronic formats relevant to that geographic area known in colonial times as Tryon County, now comprising the counties of Fulton, Montgomery, Hamilton, Schoharie, Herkimer, Schenectady and Saratoga counties.

 

Where: The Dorn Collection is housed at the Evans Library, Fulton Montgomery Community College, 2805 State Highway 67, Johnstown, N.Y.

Access: Collection materials are available during Evans Library hours. 

  • BROWSE the collection holdings.
  • SEARCH the collection.
  • Request access to locked cabinets at the 1st floor Circulation desk. 
  • Some items, due to scarcity or fragility, are available for in-library use only.  Others may be borrowed for a maximum of three weeks.
  • Materials in the Nestle and Davis Collections must be consulted only at the Evans Library with the assistance of Library Staff.

Free Consultation Service - Collection Curator Peter C. Betz can be available upon a timely request via pcbetz@fmcc.suny.edu.

Fulton-Montgomery Photographic Archives

This collection of photographs and other historical documents from the Fulton & Montgomery County area is a valued part of the Dorn collection. It contains records from various local historical and government organizations, digitized and organized to assist researchers and all those interested in our region’s past

Digital Public Library of America

The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. Fulton-Montgomery Community College (FMCC) contributes materials to DPLA. Click on "Exhibitions" and enter Fulton-Montgomery Community College in the search box to see the items added to the DPLA by FMCC.

Evans Library in the Digital Public Library of America

This site is a research portal for students, educators, historians, genealogists, and others who are interested in the Empire State's history. NewYork Heritage contains hundreds of digital collections about New York State's people, places, and institutions and brings together freely accessible digital collections from libraries, museums and archives from all over the state.

Explore the NYS Historic Newspapers project and find free online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York's unique history.