The Kenneth R. Dorn Regional History Study Center
A special collection for readers and researchers, providing in-depth focus on Mohawk Valley history from colonial to recent times, the Kenneth R. Dorn Regional History Collection actively accumulates books and a vertical file of journal articles, many of which are not available in other valley libraries.
Special Collections - The David F. Nestle and the Eber Davis collections, through primary documents and photographs, present a comprehensive understanding of the Fonda, Johnstown and Gloversville Railroad (1867-1984).
Other Specialties - the Dorn Collection contains source materials on Canadian Loyalists and also UMI Masters and Doctoral theses on valley history and those who made it. It does not contain genealogical works or rare, primary source documents.
Why? Our mission is to gather and provide historical materials in traditional and electronic formats relevant to that geographic area known in colonial times as Tryon County, now comprising the counties of Fulton, Montgomery, Hamilton, Schoharie, Herkimer, Schenectady and Saratoga counties.
Where: The Dorn Collection is housed at the Evans Library, Fulton Montgomery Community College, 2805 State Highway 67, Johnstown, N.Y.
Access: Collection materials are available during Evans Library hours.
Free Consultation Service - Collection Curator Peter C. Betz can be available upon a timely request via email@example.com.
Explore the NYS Historic Newspapers project and find free online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York's unique history.